The threat of nuclear weapon maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. Do you agree or disagree?

It is apparent that nuclear power is considered the most powerful weapon, which is able to end or start a world war, while some people reckon that its benefits to humanity in terms of sustainably producing energy outnumber its drawbacks. In this essay, the advantages and the disadvantages of nuclear power will be presented before my conclusion to show my disagreement with the view reached. On the one hand, a nuclear plant is recognized as a source of clean and renewable energy, which can produce more amount electricity compared to other clean energy resources such as solar, wind, and water. Moreover, it has minimum impacts on the environment compared to burning fossil fuels, which releases enormous Carbon Dioxide into the atmosphere every year. Therefore, nuclear power is defined as a novel source of energy that promotes sustainability in our world. On the other hand, despite producing renewable energy, it is unforgettable that nuclear weapon has been used to kill a million citizens. The tragedy in Hiroshima, Japan is the best example of illustrating its detrimental potential because a tremendous number of Japanese were killed immediately after the USA plane dropped 2 atomic bombs, and a million Japanese who got injured and survived suffered from Leukaemia due to radiation released from bombs. Furthermore, building nuclear power plants can have a risk of accidents. For example, the Chornobyl disaster, the biggest explosion of a nuclear plant in history, killed many native citizens. In addition, the land cannot be utilized and entered for more than 30 years as it is contaminated with radioactive waste, which is disastrous to human health. In conclusion, everything is a double-edged sword like nuclear power which has both pros and cons. However, according to the aforementioned paragraphs, I strongly believe that the disadvantages of nuclear outweigh its advantages as it caused considerable death.