In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Currently, many cultures believe that everything in your hands if you work hard enough. First of all, this statement is delivered to the children. This thesis has advantages and disadvantages of giving it during the childhood. The main advantage of such message is that the child with a dream believes that it is reachable. Therefore, it can encourage him to try harder and develop himself more. In addition, the life with a knowledge that your goal is achievable much better in general. Thereby this concept gives a positive impulse to the person from the beginning. However, not everything positive in such statement. Sometimes it gives to children useless hope about their dreams. It is tremendously difficult to explain to the child that world is a complex thing and not everything depends on himself. So, in many cases people can get a depression when they understand that their dreams are not only about their wishes and efforts, but also about different circumstance. To sum up, in spite of the fact, that the advantage of hard-working thesis is wildly agreed, we should carefully implement it during parenting. It would be better for teenagers to understand that their future achievements depend on different things, like a start position or luck. However, I believe that we should rely only to ourselves when we try to achieve our goals.