Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Countries ought to invest more money in building railway networks instead of roads. This essay completely agrees with the statement because trains are environmentally friendly and safer. One main reason why money should be spent on railways rather than roads is that it is beneficial for the environment. That is to say that because trains carry more people than cars, trains create less pollution per traveller. The government in China, for example, has invested a lot of money in building its railway system, and this has resulted in less smog in the air, leading many other countries to adapt similar measure. Another reason for investing in railways is that travelling by train is safer than driving. This is because trains have fixed tracks, whereas roads are shared by buses, cars, and motorbikes, and, because of that, there are more collisions on roads. For instance, all over the globe there are fewer train accidents reported every year than road accidents. In conclusion, this essay completely agrees that governments should allocate more money to rail networks than road infrastructure because this results in less damage to the environment and it is a safer means of transport.