Some people think that universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that the same number of men and women should be enrolled on each subject when they study. Many injustices would be set right through such policies, however, those with a particular interest, might not get a space due to their gender. Therefore, I do not agree with this statement. In the past, many women were denied education in certain fields because of their sex. Ensuring that there is an equal number of each, could end this unfair practice. Especially, since we have long moved past the inequalities between males and females. In turn, by empowering ladies we will see a shift in employment too. For example, 72% of the fairer sex were not able to complete any further studies in the 1970s, however, this changed once certain laws were passed and they were able to join their local colleges to study. As a result, society gradually started to accept females as part of the workforce. On the other hand, there should be an attraction to learning a certain subject and learners should not be forced into a specific topic. In addition, there should be a selection process where those who show significant results from prior learning or work experience and, preference should be given to them. For example, a boy might show curiosity about mechanics, but due to the quota, he will forfeit his seat. And there might not even be enough girls to occupy the remaining openings. In conclusion, one should ask whether one would like to fill chairs with warm bodies for the sake of equality or do one wants to achieve the best results with the most competent students, who genuinely show a fascination with the content. I believe the latter makes more sense and that there should be enrolments done based on merit and interests.