One of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that climate change is irreversible today, and the seriousness of the consequences is already being experienced. One of the challenges faced by urbanized cities is to improve air quality, aiming to lower CO2 levels. Gasoline cars generate a lot of pollution, and many governments create laws to increase the cost of fuel and thus help the environment. In this essay I will give my opinion on this measure and offer other alternative solutions. As cities grow, and people have greater purchasing power, many cities have been affected by the massive circulation of vehicles and with it, a large amount of carbon dioxide. Some governments, raise the price of gasoline assuming that more people will stop using their cars so often, because of the cost. Although this solution seems quite logical, it has proven to be ineffective in reducing CO2 levels. In large cities, the car is an indispensable means of transport for many, and a study by the National Institute of Statistics has shown that comfort and habituation to this means of transport is stronger than the desire to save money and opt for another. In the Santiago Valley, for example, due to the concavity of its geography, at certain times of the year the air is so polluted, that the government declares an alert and certain outdoor activities are prohibited. In addition, the Ministry of Transportation prohibits the circulation of certain license plates per day, to ensure that fewer cars pollute. Another measure that is being implemented gradually, is the use of electric or hybrid vehicles. This can be done, for example, by investing in gas stations with electromobility, lowering costs, attracting investors, etc. In conclusion, raising the price of fuel appears to be an inefficient and unpredictable idea. However, implementing public policies, such as restricting certain patents or investing in electromobility, are much more attractive measures in the short and long term.