Some college freshmen find that the courses they choose are not suitable for them. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve the problem?

It is true that many students don't like their majors when they start their first year's study at university. There are many reasons for this trend, and i believe the educational system and individuals can do more to handle this problem. First of all, many parents instead of the students themself choose the major for the students' future study. for instance, in China, many parents compel their young children to study some disciplines which can help them find jobs more easily or with higher salaries, such as engineers, lawyers and doctors, however, the fact that these parents overlook their children's interests leads to an increasing number of freshmen do not want to continue their study when they go universities. Moreover, another contributing factor to these problems is a lack of knowledge and background in certain fields. It is true that the only way for many students and their parents to know a certain occupation is from movies or TV programmes. but they find everything is different from what they imagined before when the students start to learn the courses for these fields. On the other hand, I believe authorities and individuals can take many actions to deal with the problems mentioned above. To start with, teachers in high schools have the responsibility of providing sufficient information and background knowledge about the speciality which the students want to study before they graduate. For example, experts or people who have experience in certain fields can be invited to the school for presentations in order to teach young people how to choose their colleges and majors. Furthermore, the educational system in universities or colleges should provide an appropriate chance for students to change their major in case the students find that their courses are not suitable for them. From parents ' perspective, they should give their children the right to choose their major and future career freely. in conclusion, though many students don't find they don't like their courses when they start their studies at universities or colleges, many steps can be taken to avoid and fix this issue.