Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is usually believed that it is of more importance to learn English at school than vernacular and if not included in the curriculum, local languages will become extinct. However, from my point of view, it is a step in the wrong direction. Native language should also be sustained and this essay will explore my reasons and suggest probable ways to achieve this. First and foremost, every individual comes from a family and as such, from a culture. Language is one of the traits that are usually passed from one generation to another has always helped in preserving the uniqueness of this norm. So it needs to continue, that way, a basic structure is provided for future generations. In as much as it is necessary to obtain knowledge in English, I feel it is equally vital to maintain one's cultural dialect for identity's sake. A good example to illustrate this is Obi-Imo, a local area in Imo State Nigeria. They adopted the modern language and abolished the use of vernacular. They ended up losing the ability to communicate effectively in their native language other than English. Hence, the extinction of local languages in communities has a consequential effect on its dwellers. Turning to the possible solutions, the obvious step would be to ensure that other languages are included in the school curriculum and not just English. This will enhance the skills of speaking English as well as other native tongues. A further viable option would be for the families to stick to communicating only in cultural patterns. For instance, children who grow up hearing their parents speak in their local languages eventually follow suit. In conclusion, educating youngsters in English is perceived to be more significant than in other languages, in my view, it is a negative trend because preserving the native language gives some sense of identity. It is therefore needful to learn both English and other tongues, and schools and families will serve as a great tool for achieving this.