Reports show that it is increasingly expensive to keep museums open to the public. Explain why museums should be kept. What is the best way to fund them? (Government, business, individual)

Over the past decades, the existence of museums has never ceased to draw public attention. In this essay, I will discuss the reason for the maintenance of museums and suggest the optimal way of doing it. To begin with, it is true that museums play a pivotal role in preserving indigenous culture. Specifically, they may be the only institutions which acquire and research historical items, conserving them for historical cultural values. For example, the Louvre museum is the prominent organisation responsible for protecting historical relics and as well as artefacts and artworks in France. Therefore, refusal to finance museums can be regarded as both an inappropriate action and an evasion of the obligation of cultural protection. The involvement of patrons in maintaining museums is instrumental. The opponents may argue that businessmen are profit-oriented and only spend money on fields that hit frequent headlines, thus probably resulting in unbalanced development of fields. Nonetheless, they are ignorant of the fact that a deficient monetary resource may prevent governments from funding public museums. For instance, while authorities are on a tight budget, fiscal money should be distributed carefully and thoughtfully to healthcare and education. Hence, the intervention of donators and organisations could be complementary to governments. In conclusion, I am convinced that the collaboration of both lawmakers and the private sector is the every-inch solution to the given problem. Not only do local governments hold the obligation for cultural protection but also the participation of patrons contributes to the compensation of budget deficiency.