These days people are living into their 90s and beyond. As a result, there is increasing concern about care for the elderly.

Nowadays, the older populations are being lived into ninety's and beyond, resulting in dilemma about elderly care. In my opinion, it is the responsibility of the children to look after them, when they are above 90 years. To begin with, the primary reason why family members are responsible for elderly care appears to be they can provide better care and support to older people, when compared to the government. For example, especially in developing countries such as India, Srilanka, and Nepal, people live in extended families. As a result, even grandchildren are taking care of their grandfathers and grandmothers, particularly during the summer vacation in those countries. Therefore, the elderly population having such close-knit families would make them feel content and secure. Another reason is that it is a blessing for their children and grandchildren if they look after their parents. This means it is believed religiously that if parents were looked after by their children during their old age, then their kids would take of them when they become old. For instance, this theory was researched and found that 90% of participants could see the positive results of elderly care. In conclusion, extended support, care and religious belief of blessings are highlighted reasons for why it is the responsibility for family to ta take care of parents.