Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether setting imprisonment as punishment or providing enhanced education can alleviate the crime rate. In this essay, I will bring some explanation regarding why illiteracy is worthwhile compared with committing criminals to prison. The merits of having an illiterate society are conspicuous. In the first place, the educated people will belong to the adequately remunerated stratum of society at least due to the better job opportunities that would be prepared them to get employed in them. As a result, their financial wherewithal to not only make them able to make their ends meet but also recreational and entertainment needs of them will be more prone to be afforded in comparison with that of belonging to the vulnerable stratum of society and there is no need for turning to criminal activities to make a living. In the second place, people's intellectual, problem-solving, and analytical characteristics will thrive due to the contribution of an improved edification system to the life of juveniles as the posterity of the community; therefore, they would be more conscious of the devastating effects of committing to crimes and the fact that they are well-advised to capitalize on their learned capabilities to appear productive in the community to earn proper income to fulfil their requirements. Lastly, yet importantly, practical occupational skills afforded by the reinforced educational institutions make the youth capable to be recruited as soon as possible after their graduation which significantly contributes to them in terms of spiritual and psychological terms not suffering from destructive effects of depression stemming from the unemployment period. In contrast, perhaps, some others claim that there are some groups of citizens suffering from a lack of educational talents and potential; thus, It would be of no use to allocate budget and time to teach them anything more than the literacy of writing and reading and when it comes to punishing them for the offences they may be charged there is no other recourse than to put them into jails. Despite that, at the moment, culprits will be doomed to some practical education and some obligatory work in jails; As a result, some criminals can return to normal life after ceasing their imprisonment, so if they became well-skilled in such professional adeptness in advanced they would not fall into the prey of unemployment and turning to criminal procedures. It can be seen that the developed educational process will help crime prevention. Having considered both views, I am of the opinion that reinforcing all-around education will cater to the needs for combating the crime rate. Also, I would suggest that education should receive the top priority and the judicial system and setting proportionate punishment as imprisonment had better bring up the rear if need be.