Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It has been noticed that numerous languages are diminishing every year. Many people consider it as favourable if there are only fewer languages in the world. This essay will argue that while it will have positive implications for careers, most people will suffer a lot in every walk of life. I completely disagree with the predominance of fewer languages. An enormous amount of people encourage fewer languages because they have seen the impacts of international languages such as English. An increase in the number of English speakers can be noted as it opens avenues of opportunities as a result people are opting for it. For instance, many multinational companies around the world mention English proficiency requirements for career roles where all those who fulfil the criteria secure high positions. Hence, some people are beneficiaries if there are few languages. Conversely, I believe there are lots of drawbacks if few languages become dominant since society works in a particular way. Language is a medium of communication which people use to convey their messages. Teachers are easily available to teach children at schools, people can socialise with each other in a convenient way, and official matters are dealt with with great ease only provided people communicate in a native language which is common for each member of society otherwise there will be disastrous repercussions. For example, in humanitarian crises, rescue work is not carried out effectively unless all stakeholders speak in their native language. Thus, with the dominance of fewer languages masses will face dilemmas in their lives. In conclusion, this essay argues that despite promoting fewer languages benefits a small segment of society, the majority of the demographics will find challenges to survive in the community. Therefore, I entirely disagree with the dominance of fewer languages.