In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that nowadays, an increasing number of people are inclined to live solely in comparison to the past. From my perspective, it can have both positive and negative effects in equal measure. On the one hand, people who chose to live alone can learn to be more independent, including in economic and personal aspects. For example, to live alone, one has to have adequate financial ability to cover the outlay such as bills, food, and electricity; moreover, one also needs to learn how to maintain their daily life without assistance from other family members. Another positive development is that people who live by themself can have more personal space and their own living style without causing inconvenience to other members. For instance, some might have their own living style and habits that their parents find hard to accept; thus, living together can be liable to cause conflict. In this light, people who have their own space can avert such problems and further reduce the chance of causing inharmony. On the other hand, several adverse effects can arise from this living mode. One main implication is that without the company of parents or siblings, one might experience the emotion of loneliness and helplessness, in certain cases, it can develop into mental ailments such as depression as well as other issues. Moreover, due to the absence of family support, the predicament can even exacerbate while no one discerns the symptom, leading to tragedy in consequences. Another problem is the financial burden, living by oneself might have to take on financial pressure solely, especially for youngsters who have just started their careers. The expenditure on housing or rental can be cumbersome without support from their family. In conclusion, the trend of living alone can have both negative and positive effects, people can become more independent and free by living alone while the downside of the paucity of companies and heavy financial pressure can also be problematic issues.