Some people think that public health is the government's responsibility, while others believe that people should be responsible for their health.

It is often said that general health care is a duty of the authority. Other people disagree, however, saying that people ought to be in charge of their health. This essay will discuss the debate and give a concluding view. The proponents of the theory of government responsibility for public health care claim that because government approves policies of health, it should be responsible for the protection public health. For example, during the pandemic period, the officials of the countries imposed restrictions on work, business, and tourism in order to protect the health of the people. Another group that supports this contemplation says that since governments have the financial resources at their disposal, they should take responsibility for public health. in addition, Throughout the corona time, governments have done their duty to protect people's health by paying for vaccines. The opponents assert that people should help maintain their health by observing sanitation. For instance, during seasonal disease, they will prevent themselves and others from getting sick by wearing masks. Also, those who agree with the idea point out that when people observe personal hygiene and have an active and healthy lifestyle, public health becomes favourable. That is to say, people do not inject vaccines or they don’t observe personal hygiene, illnesses increase, and public health is at risk. In conclusion, it seems that the responsibility for public health lies with the governments because they can contribute more to this issue according to their financial budgets and powers in policy making. However, the opponents claim that observing personal hygiene and preventing diseases are among the responsibilities of the people, which is not wise.