Many people prefer to watch foreign films than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should the government give more financial support to the local film industry?

Films produced overseas have a tendency to be more appealing than domestic ones to many. A number of reasons are contributed to this trend, including the curiosity of film watchers and the attraction of high technique. In my view, I partly agree with this suggestion that domestic film should be funded by the state. It is bluntly obvious that there are many factors that have led to people’s preference for imported films over local ones. Firstly, films produced from overseas contain exotic contents which open viewers to various insights into foreign cultures, customs, and so on. Interestingly, many imported movies are equipped with different special effects which attract people easily. For instance, Korean movies are famous for creating many intriguing plots which frequently bring to viewers ups and downs as any situations in real life, and well-known blockbusters are made in the United States with appealing effects that are immersed by watchers like Marvel, Spider-man, and so on. Consequently, pouring money into foreign movies is quite worthwhile. Nevertheless, there are some noticeable necessities that investing money in domestic films. With more funding, the local film industry can be enabled to hire film experts and buy copyright scripts. Once a well-qualified film is produced and welcomed by many viewers, the number of views will be increased. As a result, it is not only beneficial for the film crew’s profit but although builds up a significant contribution to the development of the industry and country. As an industry, this sector therefore will generate more employment for people. Creating jobs for people, will contribute an amount of tax to countries' income. However, I would argue that this policy should be taken into account in developing countries where financial problems are still a matter. It is undeniable that the budget of nations in the third world is limited, which should be allocated properly. It is fundamental for the government to invest money in key sectors such as education, medical systems, and so on. For instance, by supporting cheaper medical care, people’s living standards can be enhanced, or creating a good chance of schooling will facilitate a high-skill labour workforce. In conclusion, spending the budget for both local and overseas films is beneficial. However, it is essential for some countries, in particular, developing ones should properly invest their money in prioritized fields such as education and healthcare first, which are the concrete foundations to pursue a nation rather than pouring money into the film industry.