Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant example from your experience.

In today's world, with such busy schedules and a taunting curriculum, it is important for children to have a break from their daily educational routine. Some people believe children should be engaged in academics even in their free time otherwise it is a waste of time. In my opinion, non-educational activities also help in shaping one's life. To begin with, parents usually enrol their children on extra tuition during their holidays. This is mentally taxing on the children. Moreover, they are caught in this game of succeeding academically. For instance, a study done at Oxford university claims students develop depression if they are always engaged in their studies. Therefore, leisure activities are not a waste of time as they help youngsters to revitalise and refresh to excel in their curriculum. On the other hand, enrolling for summer camps or recreational activities develops one's personality and thought process. Participating in various activities like trekking will foster human values, teamwork and helping nature among participants. Additionally, these programs will help youngsters develop skills which might become their future professions. Consequently, these traits will help pupils in their routine life as well as in academics. It has been found scholars who take part in extra-curricular activities perform exceedingly well in studies. Hence, it is important to motivate kids to enrol on other activities in their leisure other than academics. To conclude, leisure time among students must be encouraged in addition to school time to develop hobbies or skills which will ultimately help shape their persona and future.