It has been suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Young children nowadays love to explore beyond boundaries and are always ready to learn new skills. Some scholars believe that having a pet at home and gaining knowledge about gardening would be crucial for their overall development. It is advised that children who cultivate these habits at a tender age would be more compassionate and understanding in future therefore, it would be beneficial for every kid. To begin with, a child would comprehend the meaning of companionship and friendship at a young age only if he learns to keep a pet. However, there are a plethora of people who feel scared to keep any animal at their residence because they feel that they can cause harm to toddlers instead these animals guide the children towards love and friendship. For instance, it was published in the Hindustan Times that families having a pet animal at home tend to bring up extrovert kids as compared to the ones without pets. Moreover, families engage their offspring in the kitchen garden so that a child knows about the benefits of fresh vegetables and fruits. To elaborate further, if primary students would imbibe the cultivation of vegetables, they would easily make it their hobby in the future to help them to relax their minds during stressful hours. For example, while growing vegetables it would be easy for these toddlers to learn their names and colours as well as how they are grown. This would help them in their studies as well. How is it possible to exclude these activities just because they make the hands and clothes dirty? In conclusion, the benefits are more as compared to the drawbacks of advising youngsters to be friendly with animals at home and adding gardening as their hobby.