“Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?”

These days, state-of-the-art innovations and technology such as CCTV cameras and smartphone tracking have more and more affected daily life by monitoring the action of people, which sometimes individuals do not realize that they are capturing. In this essay, the comparison between the benefits and drawbacks of these inventions will be presented below before my conclusion is reached. There are some disadvantages of these technologies if it is being used by bad guys. A hidden camera and a tracking gadget enable stalkers to follow the daily activities, location, and personal data of their targets, which can be superstars, net idols, or even your children. For example, Lisa Blackpink, a famous Korean girl group singer, has ever been intimated by receiving a letter from an unknown person at her home. Moreover, telephone tracking can be used to steal the personal data of many people including bank account passwords, or even private pictures from smartphones. Despite a few disadvantages of the innovation, it is apparent that a security camera can dramatically decrease the number of crimes by acting as a deterrent to violating rules. First of all, it has multifunctions to record the evidence and identify offenders, police and justice court can easily work to arrest criminals and impose punishment. Secondly, a CCTV can promisingly intensify road traffic safety because it can be used to be speed and traffic cameras to detect drivers who drive too fast, and to fine and punish people who violate the traffic rules. Thirdly, it can protect property and wealth even if you are absent if you install a CCTV at your home. Eventually, the number of offences and accidents on roads will be significantly declined. In conclusion, according to the aforementioned reasons, although these electric gadgets may be used by offenders to stalk and hack personal information, their advantages conspicuously outweigh their disadvantages as it is able to promote the safety of citizens' daily life and lives on the road.