In some countries, there is an increase in number of parents choosing home education for their children. Do the advantages of home education outweigh its disadvantages?

Education is a very important aspect of life because human beings are constantly learning. In significant number of countries, there is a high rise of guardians opting for homeschooling for their offspring. It is no doubt that the merits of this supersede the drawbacks. To begin with, a major disadvantage of homeschooling is little or no social interaction with agemates. Without a doubt, children who are taught at home, tend to have no classmates to relate with, thereby there is little or no social interaction to prepare them for the future. For instance, a homeschooled child might not know how to react to a bully in the future as he wasn't bullied during school. Although this can be solved by ensuring children interact with their agemates in social gatherings like church and even parks. Similarly, a significant drawback of homeschooling is the cost. Learning at home usually costs an arm and leg as tutors are expensive coupled with the fact that not every family can afford it. However, this can be solved by parents training to be tutors and teaching their offspring. However, a positive effect of homeschooling is little or no distraction. Unlike a physical school, children that learn at home tend to have little or no distraction from other members of the classroom as they are most times only students. As a result, they tend to be academically sound. For instance, the Association of Home Schoolteachers recently claimed that 90 percent of students who are home -schooled turn out to be distinction students. In the same vein, parents tend to discover and therefore develop special abilities of children. Oftentimes, in an home -school setting, parents are usually tutors of their children. As a result, guardians discover innate skills like singing or acting of their offspring and help develop it which can be useful in the society In the future. In conclusion, in recent times, there is exponential growth in the number of guardians that enrol their offspring in homeschooling. Personally, I believe the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.