Many governments are investing less in roads and more in public transport systems. Do the advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

In the salad days of the millennium, it is observed that a major portion of funds is spent on the federal transport system as compared to roads. However, it is generally argued that this is a beneficial step for the development of the country. I partially agree with this notion and in the following paragraphs, I would shed light on numerous reasons to support my stance. To commence with the facet of the agreement, there are myriad things to be shared in its favour. First and foremost, travelling in communal transport costs inexpensive. For example, third -world nations such as Nigeria, where most of the population is poverty-stricken even, they hardly afford their day-to-day expenses, prefer to use this medium. Thus, they are able to cut down their monthly budget and save some money for other purposes such as food. Furthermore, the universal mode of trade produces less pollution. This system accommodates a large number of people at a time and allows them to travel together. Therefore, it decreases the number of cars on the streets and causes minimal consumption of fuel which majorly contributes to air pollution. Shifting towards the second school of thought, well-built pathways are important to reduce traffic congestion. For example, in densely populated countries, such as the USA, where dwellers prefer to use their personal conveyance, the kingdom has to face a heavy rush of traffic on a regular basis. If tracks are not great enough and they have multiple potholes in themselves, they will slow down the speed of vehicles. Hence, creating a hindrance in the traffic flow. Moreover, poor conditions of pathways had adverse effects on the infrastructure. During natural disasters, for illustration rainfalls, the water-logging problem is commonly observed. As a consequence, it can damage the pillars of bridges and even cause rusting on the foundations of buildings as well and make them weaker. In conclusion, it is opined that the bureaucrats are devoting more assets to the public commuting network instead of making roads. I partially support this statement because both of them have their own importance which cannot be neglected at any cost.