The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an assertion that advertising in any format should be prohibited considering its uselessness and potential damage to society. Personally, I am mostly against the proposed ban as advertisements facilitate buying decisions and create jobs even though some of the advertised information might be inaccurate. The foremost rationale for my disapproval of banning advertising is its informative nature. Specifically, advertisements can introduce people to a range of products that might directly address their problems or improve the quality of their lives as well as these products’ unique features and qualities. This information might allow consumers to acknowledge more possible options and make informed decisions more effortlessly. Another concern for why I disagree with the prohibition of advertising in all forms is the risk of job loss. Advertising firms, along with companies in supporting industries such as printing and event organisation, are reported to be offering employment to millions of people including content creators, designers and campaign managers around the world. If an abrupt ban were to be introduced, these employees could be shed, possibly resulting in an increasing unemployment rate as some of them might struggle to secure suitable employment. Nevertheless, I acknowledge the potential damage of misleading information incorporated into marketing campaigns. To explain, this can lead consumers to make unnecessary purchases that negatively impact their finances or health. This can be seen in the case of supplements. In fact, a number of customer protection associations have reported that many ordinary buyers mistake supplementary tablets for medicinal products as their health effects tend to be exaggerated in advertisements using the endorsement of paid doctors and health professionals. Consequently, these misled customers might have wasted their money on products that fail to fully provide the advertised benefits. In conclusion, I mostly oppose the proposed ban of product promotion efforts as they can foster informed purchasing decisions and employment opportunities, although advertising might provide inaccurate information to viewers. In the future, governments should encourage the development of this industry while regulating unethical practices more stringently.