Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think that there are other alternative ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

To reduce crime rates, great efforts have been made to achieve them. Now there are disputes as to whether we should extend prison sentence time or not. In my opinion, we have other options, such as enhancing education or community monitoring. Admittedly, there are a couple of advantages after we extend prison time. Firstly, this can punish the lawbreakers strictly so that they would not commit crimes. Secondly, this can also be a great deterrence to others who may have the tendency to do something bad. However, there are still many disadvantages. To start with, the prisons would be increasingly crowded so that there is no space for the latter criminals. Moreover, it would need more taxes to afford the fees and our government has less to invest in other sectors as our budgets are never unlimited. Therefore, I tend to think that we can take other alternative solutions. For the first point, we can enhance education for children, teenagers and criminals. Thus, children can tell right from wrong at a young age. Teenagers can get to know that there would be serious results after they commit crimes. Criminals can know that they have made serious mistakes and if they do not correct them, there will be more strict sentences. In addition, we can ask communities to monitor those who have committed relatively slight crimes. This can not only force them to correct their mistakes but also give them a deterrence that they cannot commit crimes. In conclusion, although long prison sentences may reduce crimes to some extent, this is not the best way for all crimes. We should adopt various measures for different crimes so that we can save social resources as well as reduce crimes.