The government intends to ban smoking in public areas. Some people say that it is a good idea, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Undoubtedly, smoking is a perilous habit and its dangers are not limited to the consumers alone when inhaled around other non-smokers. This is why governments are planning to prohibit smoking in public areas. Whilst some individuals validate that a ban is a pragmatic solution, others share a contrary opinion. It is my contention that although some people disagree with the notion of imposing a potential ban on smoking cigarettes in public, governments should display extra efforts to execute this law to protect non-consumers. First and foremost, as governments gain more understanding of the dangers of smoking, they have tried numerous measures to discourage users from smoking in public. I think smoking cigarettes in a public area is a selfish act because you are not only damaging yourself, but its implications go beyond you to the people surrounding you. For example, inhibiting smokers in public areas such as transportation, parks and open markets will create more spacious environments for everyone to indulge in. One way to maintain such a ban would be by imposing expensive fines on the people who disregard our laws. Furthermore, if these over-the-roof fines seem to be failing, potential detention can be implemented. On the other hand, a few individuals seem to be dissatisfied with the government's proposal to ban smoking in public areas. Practically, exerting such laws or prohibitions might be futile efforts this intent is not initiated by conscious minds. To exemplify this statement, cigarette addicts do not seem to fathom the value of their health and punishing them to cease smoking in public signifies one thing, turning a blind eye to these penalties. In conclusion, despite there is a minority of people who claim that putting a ban in place is useless, I think differently as laws should be in place to keep smokers accountable if they ever commit these activities in public places.