Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Electronic devices such as computers and smart phones are increasingly accessible to young people. This gives rise to a concern: those devices brings no beneficial effect on youngsters. While I can understand those anxieties, I would argue that proper use of these gadgets facilitate reading and writing skills. It sounds logical that excessive use of laptops and cell phones negatively affect youngsters’ reading and writing skills. To begin with, with the advent of smart phones, emoji is becoming more and more popular among young people, because emoji such as smiley faces, devil horns enables them to express their moods with ease. They do not need to rack their brains to come up with an appropriate word. However, everyone knows that emoji is not allowed in formal writing such as school paper, or assignments. Therefore, it will not be hard to understand that long time reliance on emoji will impair students’ writing ability. Moreover, the addiction to playing games or browsing short videos like TikTok on mobile phones or computers leaves youngsters little time to read. The lack of reading practice would obviously lead to poor reading competence. However, with proper use, the merits of these gadgets outweigh the drawbacks. Firstly, when surfing the Internet, young people open a new world in which they get access to an ocean of valuable information, ranging from classic novels to news. For example, for those who are learning foreign languages, phones and computers allow them to form a good habit of daily reading and enrich their vocabularies. Secondly, people can create blogs communicating their thoughts on social networking. For instance, teenagers who are fond of skiing often update their stories during training. By writing on a regular basis, their writing skills will certainly get improved. In conclusion, playing phones and computers is a double-edged sword to youngsters’ reading and writing skills. Whether it brings benefits depends on the way they use it.