It is widely believed that consumerism is vital for the economic well-being of a country. However others feel that consumerism has unacceptable social consequences on a society. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people hold the view that it is crucial to purchase and use a lot of commodities in order for the economy to flourish whereas other individuals argue that excessive consumption takes its toll on society. I am inclined to agree rather with the latter than with the former because consumerism leads to quite a few serious social issues. So, two opinions will be examined in the essay. On one hand, buying different types of goods and foods is beneficial for the economic growth of any country. On the other hand, it may have a detrimental impact on children, adolescents and adults. According to a study conducted in 2016, young people who were allowed to purchase foodstuff and drinks for 4 weeks without limitation had gained on average 2.3 kilograms extra weight for just one month whereas students whose food consumption was relatively limited had maintained their initial weight by the end of the fourth week. Therefore, it can be extremely harmful to consume too much food because overeating causes obesity in the long term. Furthermore, consumerism may be adverse for society because individuals are highly likely to become addicted to certain items. To illustrate, it has become increasingly common to buy a new-brand iPhone once it has appeared on the market. To cite a specific example, hundreds of buyers had been queueing in Moscow when a new model of an iPhone was released because they could not imagine their lives without having a new version of the smartphone. Hence, consumers rely on the things like devices too much which is harmful to mental health. To conclude, even though people who spend a lot of money on things help the economy to grow and prosper there is the hidden cost of excessive consumption. Thus, everything is good in moderation.