The most important aim of science should be to improve people's live. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

It is said that It is better to consider improving the lives of people as the most essential goal of science. I generally agree with this view. It is my view that scientists are continuously making an effort to use science for various purposes. It is obvious researching requires lots of effort and cost so the research should be well worth it both for financial resources and researchers. Spending time and money on solving problems that influence people is a truly valuable way because the researcher will have a sense of achievement as he has done a rewarding task and the sponsor will be successful in its investment. Also, It is true that many of the efforts that have been made in the past were because of being more convenient and achieving a higher quality of life. Because these two are the core reasons for almost all issues. Even in sciences such as mathematics problems are usually a model of real situations like being in need of optimizing something and they have been solved to reach answers and be able to eliminate the problem or reduce its consequences. In contrast, some people believe there are several other occasions that are as important as making people's lives better. For example, they may think protecting the environment or saving animal species are very concerning. However, if they are deep into them, they will realise that most of them are related to humans and it is the main reason for gaining value. One instance could be the extinction of animals or insects which can lead to irreparable harm to the life cycle of the Earth and affect human life directly. So it is the main reason that in such situations, authorities usually take immediate effort and establish laws. In conclusion, I think the importance of enhancing the quality of life is evident as it is justifiably reasonable for both scientists and financial sponsors. Moreover, all problems that humans think of, are associated with having a tendency to have a better and higher quality of life.