In the past, buildings ofien reflected the culture of a society but today all modern buildings look alike and cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar.What do you think is the reason for this, and is it a good thing or a bad thing?

Implementing modern technologies in the field of civil engineering gave rise to high-rise buildings,tower houses and many more, which are seen commonly in many developed countries. Although,It is considered that all these new buildings and new methods of building pose a threat to previous cultures of that country's architectural designs,In my eyes, I consider these newer cities to provide benefits to the new generations. The Discovery of new raw materials in the earth's womb lead to newer inventories in the field of construction.limestone which is one of the raw materials which revolutionalized the world by inventing cement which is far better than bricks or stone houses in terms of strength and durability.After the world using cement for constructing, buildings all the societies started to have identical structural buildings apart from their exterior designs.Whereas in the past different parts of the world used different components and techniques to construct their shelter. For example,the Egyptians used to build pyramids using large piles of rocks,whereas the Canadians used to build their houses with wood as they had huge forestry in their country. On the other,cement turned the cities into concrete jungles which accommodated millions of people in one cluster and started improving the daily lifestyle of the public by improving the economy of their particular countries and saving lives of humans from natural calamities like tornados,thunderstorms,flooding of rivers, unlike the ancient buildings or techniques did not provide them with this safety to accidental incidents. To conclude, in spite of posing a threat to cultures of societies around the globe modern buildings protect and improve the lifestyle of people in their day-to-day lives.As most modern buildings are similar throughout the world the materials can be shared with their neighbouring countries and therefore it results in optimized usage of resources and increases productivity.