Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of the news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world, technology has experienced a huge development, making them more useful in everyday life including communicating with each other and updating life. Nonetheless, I would say that there are more benefits from this situation for some reasons that are set out below. On one side, nowadays, everyone can use social media applications for some positive outcome purposes. For example, people utilize applications, such as WhatsApp to chat or call their families when they stay in different areas. Furthermore, they can access the latest news via Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram so that they can be aware of situations in their country; including economic and political situations. On the other side, there are some downsides to using social media. First, it makes the user addicted to it because the applications offer entertainment which shifts their attention from looking at important things to unnecessary activities, like games or scrolling Instagrams. Second, the first example will have another detrimental impact, like lacking concentration when working and reducing their communication with families and friends. Lastly, these drawbacks may create further issues that might not be in their consideration to worst their professional and personal lives. In conclusion, even though there are some drawbacks to using social media, I still believe that the benefits are huge, especially in helping them to communicate and get the latest news.