Some parent believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life. Discuss both sides.

Studying mathematics at school is redundant, as believed by some parents, while others think it is a foundational subject regardless of its usage in human life. Although mathematics plays an important role in critical and logical ability, many people oppose it to be taught in schools because of the hike in computation devices like calculators, and smartphones. To start with, it is true that nowadays numerous devices are being invented in the modern world to help humans in various fields including the computational field. Any computation can be done in fractions of time. For example, the latest digital devices have features to solve equations whether easy or complex. Moreover, one can not deny that this advancement has impacted the use of mathematics for humans and academic institutes should focus on other subjects instead of maths. On the other hand, netizens support the fact that mathematics and statistics are important for everyone and should be taught as a fundamental program in any university. Mathematics helps one to become creative. This is true as well, even the IQ of a person is measured by his or her ability to solve complex numerical problems. If a person lacks inter-personnel skills, he or she may find it hard to compete with society. To conclude, the increasing number of measurement devices has made an impact on mathematics. One can not deny the fact that it is crucial to study the subject to be more creative and logical.