Some children spend hours playing on their phone. Why is it the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a large number of children allocate their time to using cell phones. In my opinion, it's totally a negative phenomenon and I'll explain my reasons in the forthcoming paragraphs. because of the technological advancements that have been made in recent decades, society is forcing everyone to use their smartphones anywhere at any time. For instance, lots of teachers nowadays, give assignments to their students via social media, which encourages children to use their cell phones. Moreover, an enormous number of children spend their time texting or talking on their cell phones for long hours. furthermore, social media apps have developed significantly in recent decades and have been much more user-friendly than in the past, which motivates children to spend their time surfing on telegram or Instagram. This phenomenon has caused many negative effects on children. for example, the rate of children with obesity has grown considerably in the last decade and lots of children have become socially isolated causing them to hardly ever have contact with each other face to face. In addition, lots of parents have reported that smartphones have interfered with the studies of their children, causing them to get low marks. In conclusion, I think the amount of time that students spend on their cellphones should reduce so that the children won't have educational or health problems. In conclusion,many children spend a large amount of their time on their cell phones every day because social media constantly presents them with content designed to keep their attention.sadly this can take a toll on their mental health.