Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Government funding with regard to art, such as music and theatre, has been a longstanding issue of debate - many people believe that their tax money should alternatively be spent on public services. Personally, I believe that both art and public services bring about different benefits to society, and so government investment in both is desirable. On the one hand, it is important to note that art is the voice of society, and therefore, to fund art is to encourage the expression of society as well as the development and pursuit of new ideas. Art has always served as a window into the past reconnects today’s generation with previous ones, and has helped to create new creative movements. Such is why many European governments continue to fund museums and exhibits in their own countries despite many of them being unable to operate on a commercial basis, for they can showcase their own heritage and culture and inspire future generations. On the other hand, spending on public services helps to ensure a more immediate benefit to the population. As opposed to art, it could be said that public services are enjoyed by most if not all of a country’s population, and therefore investing in it could be seen as much more equitable. Important public services such as healthcare also have the benefit of keeping the population healthy while creating numerous high-quality jobs. The economic effects of public services could thus be observed to be more immediate and tangible than investments in art. Nonetheless, I argue that there are different benefits to both art and public services, and the government should invest in both