Some people think that the government should spend taxpayers’ funds on cultural activities such as music or art. Others think this is a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Since time immemorial, taxation has been a source of revenue generation for every governmental entity in a nation. In view of this, there is an irrefutable debate that discusses whether money generated from taxes should be spent on activities such as music or art while several folks disagree with this position. In this essay, I would take a distinctive look at both sides in the paragraphs below while I conclude with my own opinion. To begin with, spending taxes on entertainment activities such as music or art would help increase the government's revenue from this sector. There are many countries that undermine the strength of entertainment which has proven to be one of the highest paying sectors of late. For instance, there are many Nigerian artists in the entertainment industry such as Wizkid, Davido and Burna Boy who are currently earning royalties which simply signifies that if the government invests in their careers and provides the necessary support to enhance growth, there would be more money coming in for the government. Invariably, investing taxpayers' funds in this sector will help increase revenue for the country. On the other hand, spending money generated from taxes on activities such as music and art is detrimental to the country's economy. Looking at it from a very neutral view, there are several important things the government needs to splash taxes on which would help prevent the recession in the nation. For example, eradication of poverty, supporting small business owners in order to help stabilize the economy, promote a sustainable society, construction of public structures such as road, and train stations and maintenance of the country's asset as a whole is more vital as to promote growth and stability in the nation. Undoubtedly, spending taxes on other thriving matters is very pivotal. In a nutshell, spending taxes on other important issues in the country has several pivotal benefits in order to help stabilize the country and also improve its economy. Conversely, I would recommend that the government adheres to the status quo in order to prevent economic downfall.