Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

It is true that more and more people nowadays choose to watch foreign movies over those produced domestically. From my perspective, this tendency can be attributed to several reasons, and in response to the issue, the government should offer more financial support to the native film industries. Among all the viewpoints, I believe one primary factor is cast. Famous characters play a pivotal role in attractiveness in movies, in comparison with those, local actors or actresses might not be tempting enough to attract domestic audiences. Take Hollywood movies, for example, those movies often feature famous celebrities as characters to attract people, making the audiences choose foreign movies over domestic ones. Another reason is the insufficient funds that are invested in filmmaking. With limited potential audiences, domestic filmmakers resort to curtailing the budget that expands on filmmaking; due to the situation, local films are prone to low quality and dull performance, eventually, forming a vicious cycle. The reason I believe the government should offer financial support is that the local film industry should be granted a chance to their talents in the field in lieu of simply wanting for their creativity and ability to be stifled in the stale environment. Though Taiwan's film industry might not be the most famous in the field, some of the filmmakers do present some exceptional works that are critically acclaimed worldwide by many well-known movie associations. With proper guidance and financial assistance from the authorities, the local cinema industry can be given a chance to present its value and demonstrate the unique style of native films. In conclusion, several reasons can be attributed to the tendency of an increasing number of people to prefer to watch foreign movies; however, I believe the government should offer financial assistance to local filmmakers in order to give them a chance to ameliorate the existing problem and demonstrate their value.