In today's world, people spend a lot of money on appearance because they want to look younger. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days in the modern world, individuals waste a myriad of money on their youthful appearance. I assumed that this is happening due to the huge amount of advertisements and the inner instinct of being praised for their beauty. So I found it detrimental to the health and self-confidence of society. Cosmetic industries, like any other industry, catch people's attention through ads. Any company strives to compete with others by illustrating younger models who are beautified with the company's products. This may increase not only the beauty standards but also mislead people about the fact that beauty means youth. Consequently, people would splurge on cosmetic products to modify themselves with such standards. Moreover, everyone yearns to be praised for their beauty. Even though all people are aware of their official age, they will be grateful if somebody admires their physical appearance and tell them that they look young for their age. Individuals who are getting on a bit may hear this admiration less, so they would purchase cosmetic products or even do some aesthetic facial surgery to look younger. The detrimental effects of this tendency are that it may reduce the social health status. to illustrate, some people may undergo unnecessary plastic surgery or buy cosmetic products to catch up with the trend of being young, so this may have hazardous side effects like emboly and skin disorders. On the other hand, the fashion of looking younger could have a negative influence on people experiencing their aging naturally. For instance, they might lose their self-confidence when they compare themselves with others. To sum up, there is a piece of evidence explaining that advertisements and people's need for praise cause the trend of being young, which is harmful to people's health and mental status.