Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There are a variety of different perspectives on whether or not governments should spend money on railways instead of roads. In my personal opinion, I believe governments spending money on railways is a better decision than on roads and my reasons are below. Firstly, investing in railways can significantly reduce carbon emissions. Global temperatures are rising, the main reason is that people tend to drive cars rather than take public transportation, if governments develop efficient public transport systems, people will be more willing to use them. Developing railway system not only can reduce carbon emissions but also creates more job opportunities. Meanwhile, the railway system could reduce traffic jams. If people take trains and subways more often than driving cars, the number of cars on streets and highways will decline. Therefore, people will not be stuck on the road for hours. Furthermore, the railway system can transport a higher number of passengers than cars, and also offers higher speeds and covers longer distances. For example, whenever I visit Taipei, I choose to use the MRT system instead of driving. This is because Taipei has bad traffic jams, and the MRT is very convenient. It can take me anywhere in the city easily. Due to the MRT system ’s well-designed, that it's always my first choice for getting around Taipei. In conclusion, I believe governments should support railway development for several reasons, one, declining carbon emissions is good for global environment, two, it can provide job vacancies, three, public transportation is more efficient and reliable. Base on these reasons, supporting railway not only benefits people but also benefits the environment.