Nowadays, young people communicate with friends and family through mostly social network sites, rather than other ways of communication like talking on the phone or face to face. Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give some reason for your answer.

Youngsters in recent generations usually used social media the majority of the time in communicating with friends and family, rather than talking on the phone or face to face. For,me the positive outweighs the negative side. Nowadays, we cannot give reassurance that family always stay together though they stick together. It is part of globalisation and human instinct that we have to travel to seek greener pastures and if not for our career growth, thus we can not stop ourselves to travel and be away with our loved ones. Long-distance relationships can really be agonising in which we have to look for any means to communicate with them. Thus, with the new technologies now it is easier for us to contact anyone and show our concerns, love, care and empathy. It is really hard if there is no communication, it can make you feel depressed and at times can affect your mental health and well-being. The social media platforms that we used help us to connect to people who are not in contact with us for a long time. On the other side, if one stays under the same roof then it is advisable to have a face-to-face-face conversation rather than using the gadgets unless it is badly needed or provided that they are not in isolation. In my point of view, young people tend to use social platforms in communicating just because they have been exposed and used to it, and because of the situation that they need to contact their loved ones.