It is important for people to take risks, both in professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Risk taking is indeed a test of faith, and has been found to be an important part of every individual’s life. Although, there are few disadvantages associated with taking a leap of faith, I believe the advantages cancels out the disadvantages in real life sense. First and foremost, risk taking is a process individuals undergo in order to become better both in their occupation and private life. People who take risks, get to find out solutions to problems existing around them. For instance, Bill Gates after 2 years at Harvard, dropped out of university to develop Microsoft. Today he is successful Microsoft developer. Another instance, My cousin was expelled from medical school because of finance, but he didn't give up, he became a mechanic, after some years went back to school. Today he is a consultant. Thus, great risk reaps great reward. On the other hand, risk taking can sometimes be detrimental to us. Some youngsters get involved in dangerous risk taking in form of a bet with their friends such as, reckless driving, skydiving, jumping from tall buildings, which have caused  some to lose their lives and others bedridden. In conclusion, risk taking is indeed a test of faith. It is an effective way to increase human abilities, improve personal development and also help us achieve our goals in life. However, it may be detrimental and sometimes may lead to death.