today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extend do you agree or disagree. Give reasons for your answer and include any revelant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern era, there is a trend when people are buying goods due to the popularity they got through advertising rather than their real needs. I mostly agree with this idea. In this essay, I plan to explore my point of view substantiating them with relevant examples. Firstly, I would like to talk about products that are more attractive to buyers due to ads such as smartphones, notebooks and other devices. For example, it is a well-known fact that a plethora of individuals, especially young people, are impatiently waiting for the release of gadgets' new models just because they are modern, have the latest versions' capabilities, and give an opportunity to make an impression on their peers. In reality, they do not need to change their previous devices but they do it. Another situation concerns a huge number of goods that are believed to treat or alleviate certain health issues. For instance, a myriad of women spend money on magic pills which are able to lose weight. Needless to say, generally they do not help them. Nevertheless, sometimes advertised goods are really useful and give a chance to be aware of them. For example, recently I have heard about a new device that helps to install a smartphone in the car highly convenient and flexible. I did not know about it and found it quite useful for me. In conclusion, although society often falls under the influence of advertising and does useless shopping wasting their money, yet, there are cases when it is possible to find needed products through promotional video clips and banners.