In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people worldwide prefer wearing clothes that are brought from western countries, including suits and jeans, instead of wearing their traditional clothing. In this essay, I will highlight how media plays a huge role in this trend and why I consider it to be a negative development. Perhaps the most important cause of individuals from different nations adopting a western clothing style is the fact that media glorify and portray it as the pedestal in the world of fashion. In other words, people are being brainwashed and significantly influenced by advertisements and the fashion programs aired on TV or the internet, trying to teach people the right way to be elegant and stylish. For example, most Hollywood celebrities are painted as fashion icons that everyone should follow and copy. Hence, societies from different backgrounds try to follow the fashion updates defined by the media. This trend is the reason that many cultures are at risk of extension because the younger generation no longer wants to wear their ''outdated'' traditional clothing. If youngsters do not see the worth of their heritage and chose to put on the latest clothes worn by fashionable celebrities from the western world, then their identity will also disappear. For instance, in Morocco people will look at you weirdly if you wear a traditional Moroccan dress to work or to school since likely those dresses are confined to special occasions such as weddings or engagement parties. Thus, adopting such a trend has a detrimental effect on people's history since not only individuals are trying to fit into a fashion standard created by westerns themselves but also it made them feel ashamed of their heritages. In conclusion, many people from different parts of the world chose western clothing over their traditional ones mainly because they got influenced by the media that promote it. This is bad development which threatens the variety of cultures and heritages.