Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Without a doubt, people have their own personalities. Some researchers contend that people ’s personalities and growth are influenced by their birth and certain experiences. Although people are influenced from birth, I believe that individuals can change their original personalities as they accumulate more experiences. Indeed, people can be directly impacted by their family environment, especially their parents. Some parents who are extremely focused on only study or work might tend to force their children to study regardless of their children’s interests. Those who grow up in such a family environment might experience significant stress, which leads to their personality traits such as depression, anxiety and shouting if they do not succeed in their achievements. In addition, such family members tend not to teach their children basic manners, such as table manners, yielding, and collaborating. Because of these influences, the children might have difficulty understanding and communicating with their peers, which can affect their immediate growth. On the other hand, people can survive and develop themselves without experiences. I strongly believe that experiences are extremely important in their lives, which can help them with many things. Individuals can solve their problems based on their experiences or advise others based on the knowledge or information they have gained. For instance, in South Korea, one of the YouTubers, “Kimi,” was introverted and studied the whole time in her childhood, but one day she went abroad, which made her become more outgoing and realize what she likes, and she is currently an influencer. Like this influence, people need numerous experiences that help them enhance their perspective, broaden their horizons, and understand others with different backgrounds and cultures. In conclusion, though people have a much greater impact from their family environment, merely having various experiences makes people more developed in their lives. Therefore, I believe that individuals should make an effort to gain experience, not remain solely in their environment.