The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?ء

It is argued that the primary goal of scientific improvements is increasing the quality of individuals' lives. I agree with the idea to some extent. In my opinion, while it is true that any progress in science should facilitate our living we should also consider the cost it takes and the side effects it can cause. Throughout history, we can find all sorts of examples where scientific innovations made people's lives more convenient. I believe advancement in both science and technology can lead to better living qualities if it is in the right hands and it's used properly. For example, consider vaccinations, nowadays we can prevent many diseases that were acute and pandemic in the past like the plague. Additionally, if we compare our daily activities compared to even 20 years ago we can see the influence that improvements in science and technology had. For instance, we can shop online and there is no need to spend a lot of time trying to find a specific product, asking shops one after the other, we can simply sit behind our computer or even use our phone and search for it and then just order it online. So, in today's life, we can see the effects of scientific progress that humankind made, almost in every aspect of our lives. However, we can't just close our eyes to the negative consequences that this new lifestyle has. With this motto, people become greedy and they just want their life to become more and more simple. In today's world people are living a sedentary life, with all the technology they have in their hands they are becoming lazy and extravagant. Additionally, believing that science should improve people's lives has made mankind selfish and arrogant. They use whatever resource they require from the planet without caring about the damage it is causing to Earth. They are carelessly putting various animal species endanger and ruining a wide range of natural habitats. For example, I like to mention all the lakes that have been dried out because of global warming or all the reinforests which have been devastated. So, as much as science is beneficial to our lives we shouldn't forget we are not the only species living on this planet and we should keep that in mind it is our duty to protect the planet along with other living creatures living on it. In conclusion, it is believed that the main role of science is to better our lives. While I can see what an important part science is playing in our lives I suggest we should cautiously consider its side effects.