Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It can cause severe social and practical problems to live in a country that is compulsory to speak a foreign language. I completely agree with this statement because it can cause a communication barrier and not get a suitable job. The main reason why I think living in a country where you cannot speak its language can cause social and practical problems is that it causes a communication barrier. This is to say that when foreigners do not know how to speak a local language well, it results very hard to contact and interact with local people. Therefore, it is difficult for them to make new local friends, and mostly their interactions with local people result in misunderstandings. For example, many Somalis people who moved to Germany to study and live there permanently could not stay more time after their graduation and finally come back to their country because of their lack of communication skills. The other reason why I think it can cause social and practical problems to live in a country where you have to speak its language is that it is not easy to get a suitable job. This is because when a foreigner applies for a local job it is compulsory to meet a local language requirement which is not easy for the foreigner to fit in. Thus, many qualified persons have to work unskilled jobs because of their limited local language skills. For instance, many Somali’s doctors who moved to the US are working in unskilled jobs because of the English language requirements. In conclusion, I believe that living in a foreign country where you have to speak a local language can cause a communication barrier and make it difficult to get a suitable job.