Some people believe that school children should be required to do unpaid community service in their free time, such as helping in a retirement home or cleaning up public spaces. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that youngsters should be required to do voluntary work during their free time, for example, assisting people who live in a retirement house or cleaning up public areas. I strongly disagree with this statement. Students should prioritize their studies and spend their spare time with friends and family. First of all, voluntary work can cause lots of pressure on students. If youngsters spend their free time doing charity work, they lose their momentum in their studies. They are running out of time to complete their homework. While others believe that doing community service will enhance students ' capability to work from a young age. Moreover, if schools create a mandatory course for all students to attend the unpaid community service, school-aged pupils will be distracted from their educational curriculum. For example, people who do community work during their available time, they do not perform well in their academic courses as they feel overwhelmed. Therefore, doing unpaid community work sometimes creates negative outcomes for students. Furthermore, when youngsters spend their free time on community work, they do not have sufficient time to play with their friends after school. This could lead to mental dissatisfaction for students. If they are required to attend voluntary work, their spare time will be spent on cleaning open areas and assisting older people in a retirement village. In addition, children's mental growth will be affected negatively, and bonding with families will be reduced due to the lack of spare time. Children will be physically tired as well as they spend their time on unpaid work. For example, most of the schools now encourage students to attend sports rather than attend community work. It helps them to be active and boost their mental well-being. Thus, schools should encourage students to do better in their academic curriculum and enrich their knowledge. In conclusion, although attending voluntary community work is a practical experience for students, I strongly disagree, as students are required to give attention to their studies and spend their spare time with friends and family.