Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is usually believed that learning English at school is more vital than learning vernacular, and that local languages will go into extinction if not included in the school curriculum. However, from my point of view, this is a step in the wrong direction. I strongly believe that Native language should be sustained and this essay will explore my reasons and suggest probable ways to achieve this. First and foremost,  every individual comes from a family and as such, from a culture.  mother tongue is one of the traits that are passed on from one generation to another, which has helped in preserving the uniqueness of the norms in every culture. In as much as it is  necessary to obtain knowledge in English, I feel it is equally vital to maintain one's cultural dialect for identity's sake. A good example to illustrate this is Obi-Imo, a local area in Imo State, Nigeria. They adopted the modern language and ignored the use of their vernacular. The people ended up losing the ability to communicate effectively in their native language. Hence, the extinction of local languages in communities has a consequential effect on her dwellers. Turning to the possible solutions, the obvious step would be to ensure that other languages are included in the school curriculum. English language should be seen as an added language for universal communication, which it is, and not allowed to take the place of native languages. This will enhance the skills of speaking English as well as other native tongues. A further viable option would be for the families to stick to communicating with their children mainly in their cultural tongues. For instance, children who grow up hearing their parents speak in their local languages eventually follow suit. In conclusion, educating youngsters in English is perceived to be more significant than in other languages. In my view, it is a negative trend because preserving native languages gives some sense of identity. It is, needful to learn both English and other tongues. Schools and families should serve as great tools for achieving this.