Some people think that zoos are cruel and all zoos should be closed. However, some people think zoo can help protect animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In today's contemporary world, an increasing number of animals can be seen at zoos. Members of society would often argue and think it is fair treatment for animals, however, in my view animals should not be captured in zoos and should be allowed to live freely. Firstly, animals living in zoos do not get a natural habitat to live in. This means they will be raised in captivity and will get cruel treatment like restricted movement. As a result, they cannot move around independently and enjoy the liberty of their life. Moreover, they do not adequate diet in the zoo as well, which is openly available in forests and wildlife sanctuaries; hence their health condition deteriorates with time. Consequently, their life spans are not very long and they are prone to many risks of life. For instance, when I visited the Melbourne zoo last year, I noticed the health condition of both the Lion and the Tiger was not very good, which most probably was because of lack of nutrition. There are, nonetheless, some individuals who think that zoos protect animals from the risks of the external world. It specifically benefits endangered species and the ones who are on the verge of extinction. When such fauna is kept in zoos, they are constantly monitored by humans who further conduct some research on them and provide them with proper medication and nutrition. Therefore, their situation improves and they become less likely to be prone to other external risks. For example, the Tasmanian devil is regularly looked after by many Australian zoos; hence increasing their numbers which were decreasing dramatically in the past. In conclusion, although zoos are beneficial for some species of wildlife, they also lead to bad living standards for others. Thus, zoos should not capture animals for the sake of public shows and earning money, as animals have a right to live in their own space.