Overpopulation is the cause of number of problems, especially in urban areas. What are its causes? What are its effects?

Overpopulation is one of the main reasons for many different problems,especially in a developing country with limited Nature resources. I will explain the causes of overpopulation and its effects below. There are majorly two reasons for overpopulation. One of them is illiteracy in society related to family planning. For example, a couple earning an average salary in a country like India cannot afford to have a large family because it will create a burden on all family members, and they will have to compromise on basic needs like food, clothing and shelter. The second reason is the non-implementation of a population control policy by the government. If such key policies are not implemented, the people will not be aware of the increasing population and the problems related to it. There are a number of effects on an overly populated society. The major one is the depletion of natural resources like soil, water and forests. The new infrastructure will be created for an increased number of people which will lead to the use of soil and deforestation for developing buildings. The demand for food grain increases which results in the implementation of improper farming techniques like excessive use of chemical fertilizers to quickly grow the crops. This results in the declined quality of food grain produced. Another effect is unemployment, because, the number of jobs remains the same, even though the population increases. In conclusion, the unawares of the importance of family planning among countrymen and the non-implementation of government policies are main the causes of overpopulation and depletion of natural resources, unemployment, and decreased quality of food are its effects.