Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

By and large are to the belief that social media can contribute to catastrophic effects on people's lives, in particular the youth. While this view could be applicable to the majority of individuals, I tend to advocate their benefits in spite of their potential drawbacks and I will outline their advantages throughout this essay. Firstly, such applications are Facebook, Instagram and Twitter, which are reliable platforms to stay connected to whomever one wishes to have interactions with regardless of their place and time. For instance, it is a tortuous task to be able to stay in touch with people you are acquainted with or much closer such as your loved ones. These applications and software enable one to have interactions with them, therefore they can be quite useful. Secondly, some individuals have a tendency to have an introverted personality, resulting in less approach to other human beings. Moreover, these platforms give them the opportunity to make new virtual friends and prevent them to be left out of society because of this trait. For example, statistics indicate that more individuals were able to build up their network because of this feature and way of human connection. On the other hand, a possible negative effect is that those who have personality disorders and more aggressive behaviour is seen among them, will most probably show more unacceptable behaviours and also these platforms can be places where they can munificently let out a stream of invectives. Furthermore, it was less possible for them to show these kinds of behaviours if there were in person because of regulations and restrictions. In summary, although social media can account for abusive behaviours and negative trolls, their obvious benefits such as easier connectivity between people and building such platforms so that ones with shyer characteristics could come out and make friends would outweigh them.