Some people say that when children under 18 are committing a crime they should be punished, while others believe they should be educated. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion.

A high rise can be seen in committing crimes all over the world. It is argued by some people that minor-aged children should be penalized for committing an offense, while others believe that education should be provided to combat this issue. I concur with the latter statement entirely and will explain the reasons in the following paragraphs with suitable examples. Juvenile delinquency is one of the crimes that should be considered by only giving punishments as one of the solutions as argued by the public. Even though punishment is equal for all criminals, it should not be the last resort. In other words, whether it is adult or minor, all should be given a chance to improve their mistakes on the severity of committing crimes. For instance, if a child is found guilty of pickpocketing, this does not mean he would be given corporal punishment. This punishment does not guarantee always change the mindset of children. Instead, this would make them more serious criminals ending up with difficult circumstances. On the other hand, providing children with an education is an effective way to change their perspectives to control the incidents of crimes. Education has played wonderful roles in changing the mindset of people in different aspects. This is the first way where youth should be provided proper guidance on how to stop indulging in these crimes and make them aware of the results of these activities. Unless they become repeat offenders, they should not be given any punishment if it is not a serious crime. Let us take an example, in an article, it is evident that 50% of youth have stopped committing crimes after they are given proper education. Therefore, education over punishment is the most effective way to control crimes. In conclusion, although penalties are beneficial to bringing down crime rates, this is not only the option to consider. Instead, education is the first and most effective method to change the mindset of the individual. In my opinion, criminals should be only punished first, if they commit serious crimes for first time intentionally, otherwise, in case of small offenses, they must be educated.