Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think the parents should be punished instead Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

There is a fierce controversy about whether children should be punished when committing crimes or whether their parents must be the persons to receive punishments because they fail to educate their offspring. While some agree that parents of young criminals should be punished, I would argue that people should be responsible for their illegal actions regardless of their age, but parents also should educate their children about what is right and wrong. On the one hand, people often assume that a child who commits a crime on purpose is less likely to come from a well-educated family. Their parents may be collar-blue workers who are busy making money to make ends meet so they do not have much time to talk and share with their children let alone read and research the information related to children's psychology. In addition, if parents are criminals, their children will be more likely to become one. Children's worldwide views will be shaped when they live with criminals as they witness their family members commit crimes on a daily basis. They will be clueless about what is acceptable and unacceptable thus becoming violent and heartless when they grow older. On the other hand, I would argue that children should be punished when committing crimes as it is important for them to understand the laws and rules so that they will feel more discouraged to commit crimes again after release. Their family background can distort the true value of life, but they have the power to relearn it. Rehabilitation centres or exclusive prisons for juveniles give young individuals a chance to see the world from different angles and gain insight into the law. They, therefore, may become more open-minded and compassionate. Furthermore, parents should pay more attention to their offspring and invest time and effort in reading and researching children's psychology In conclusion, although people argue parents of young criminals should be strictly punished for their children's wrongdoings, I believe that children should take punishments on their own because of the potential benefits mentioned above. Instead of blaming the parents of young criminals, the public should encourage each other to always strive to educate our children better.