Some people think that qualities a person needs to become a successful in today's world cannot be learned at university. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern society, it is often claimed that an individual does not need to attend school in order to succeed. I firmly believe that this statement holds true. Although going to a university has a lot of advantages, it does not guarantee immediate success once the individual graduates. There are other factors that go into becoming successful, some of which are the never-ending support the individual receives from his or her family and friends; the strong bonds built with colleagues; and real- life experiences, from which we learn so much more. The things taught in most schools are structured, limited, and sometimes not applicable in real life. As prestigious as going to a university sounds, there are certain lessons in life that are not taught in the institution. In addition, even if the person finishes school with flying colours, at the end of the day, it is the person ’s attitude that contributes to having an accomplished life. If the person does not have the right mindset and outlook on becoming successful, the characteristics needed in order to achieve that goal are still lacking. A mix of perseverance, hard work, and resourcefulness will aid a person to become successful. Overall, having learned the proper training in an institution does not assure a thriving career. External factors play a role in guiding an individual down the right path. Furthermore, an individual with the right frame of mind can get through anything that he or she may encounter in life. Obstacles will not hinder that person from having a prosperous life.