Today foods travel thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

In this period of,technology people can taste food from all over the world, because consumers can import food due availability of transportation.In my opinion, It has many merits which outweigh its demerits with this notion and my opinion will be discussed in further paragraphs with a suitable conclusion. First, Food can be imported from most places by air or water. The storage facility is also improved by which food which tends to ruin easily can be stored for many days. Additionally, Currency exchange is also easy nowadays, so farmers do not have to worry about payment. Now if we say about the bright side, farmers are getting a better amount of money than local markets; for example, dollars have more value if converted into rupees. Moreover, Nowadays many people are travelling overseas and they don' t want to miss their taste which tends to buy them imported food of their preference from grocery stores.which makes this trend more positive as they don' t have to miss their favourite cuisines due to lack of ingredients. On the other hand, This trend is impacting local farmers because now consumers are more attracted to imported food rather than local food. In addition to that,some people don' t want to taste new flavours and remain strict with their choices and flavours which makes local market less predictable and more and more food gets wasted. Local farmers are suffering so much due to this as many people in their area are trying different food and can make that forever choice. To sum up, without any doubt, it is a mixed bag. But, certainly it has more upsides than downsides. Considering as consumer side they don' t have to worry about variety and taste but it definitely impacts local farmers.